2017 Minimum Wage Rates

Under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), the current federal minimum wage rate for nonexempt employees is $7.25 per hour. A number of states have adopted the federal minimum wage rate as their state minimum wage rate.

However, many states require employers to pay a higher minimum wage rate. Whenever employers are subject to both state and federal minimum wage laws, the law that provides the higher wage rate for employees applies.

This Compliance Overview provides a list of minimum wage rates by state or jurisdiction.  Note that specific industries or situations may have different rates that apply.

Links and Resources

State Minimum Wage Rates

The table below provides a list of the minimum wage rates by state. In some instances, the state minimum wage is set to increase to an amount predetermined by law. In other cases, the state minimum wage rate is updated annually to reflect the cost of inflation as determined by a consumer price index (CPI).

State 2017 Rate 2018 Expected Increases and Special Coverage Rules
 Alabama None N/A
 Alaska $9.80 Annual increase subject to CPI. New rate becomes effective on Jan. 1.
 Arizona $10.00 $10.50 effective on Jan. 1, 2018.
 Arkansas $8.50 The rate is applicable to employers with four or more employees.
 California $10 / $10.50 $10.50/$11.00 effective on Jan. 1, 2018. The lower rate applies to employers with 25 or fewer employees.
 Colorado $9.30 $10.20 effective on Jan. 1, 2018. The minimum wage rate applies to retail and service, commercial support service, food and beverage, and health and medical industries.
 Connecticut $10.10 No increase expected for 2018.
 Delaware $8.25  N/A
District of Columbia $12.50 $13.25 effective on July 1, 2018.
 Florida $8.10 Annual increase subject to CPI. New rate becomes effective on Jan. 1.
 Georgia $5.15 Applies to employers with six or more employees. The federal rate applies to employees covered by the FLSA.
 Hawaii $9.25 $10.10 effective on Jan. 1, 2018. An employee earning a guaranteed monthly compensation of $2,000 or more is exempt from the state minimum wage rate. Domestic service workers are subject to Hawaii’s minimum wage. State law also excludes from coverage any employment that is subject to the FLSA unless the state wage rate is higher than the federal rate.
 Idaho $7.25 N/A
 Illinois $8.25 No increase expected for 2018. The minimum wage rate applies to employers with four or more employees, excluding family members.
 Indiana $7.25 No increase is expected for 2018. Indiana’s minimum wage rate applies to employers with two or more employees.
 Iowa $7.25 N/A
 Kansas $7.25 No increase is expected in 2018. State law excludes from coverage any employment that is subject to the FLSA.
 Kentucky $7.25 N/A
 Louisiana none N/A
 Maine $9.00 $10.00 effective on Jan. 1, 2018.
 Maryland $9.25 $10.10 effective on July 1, 2018.
 Massachusetts $11.00 N/A
 Michigan $8.90 $9.25 effective on Jan. 1, 2018. The state rate applies to employers with two or more employees. State law excludes from coverage any employment that is subject to the FLSA unless the state rate is higher than the federal rate.
 Minnesota $9.50/$7.75 Annual increase subject to CPI. New rate becomes effective on Jan. 1. The $9.50 rate applies to employers with an annual sales volume of $500,000 or more.
 Mississippi none N/A
 Missouri $7.70 Annual increase subject to CPI. New rate becomes effective on Jan. 1. In addition to the exemption for federally covered employment, the law exempts, among others, employees of a retail or service business with gross annual sales or business done of less than $500,000.
 Montana $8.15/$4.00 Annual increase subject to CPI. New rate becomes effective on Jan. 1. The $4.00 rate applies to businesses with gross annual sales of $110,000 or less.
 Nebraska $9.00 No increase expected for 2018. The minimum wage rate applies to employers with four or more employees.
 Nevada $8.25/$7.25 Annual increase subject to CPI. If authorized, new rate becomes effective on July. 1. The $8.25 rate is without health benefits. The $7.25 rate is with health benefits.
 New Hampshire $7.25 N/A
 New Jersey $8.44 Annual increase subject to CPI. New rate becomes effective on Jan. 1.
 New Mexico $7.50 N/A
 New York $9.70 $10.40 effective on Dec. 31, 2017, for most of the state. However, the new minimum wage varies across the state based on geographical location and, in New York City, employer size.
 North Carolina $7.25  N/A
 North Dakota $7.25  N/A
 Ohio $8.15/$7.25 Annual increase subject to CPI. New rate becomes effective on Jan. 1. The $7.25 rate is for employers grossing $299,000 or less.
 Oklahoma $7.25/$2.00 Employers of 10 or more full-time employees at any one location and employers with annual gross sales over $100,000 irrespective of number of full-time employees are subject to federal minimum wage; all others are subject to state minimum wage of $2.00.
 Oregon $10.20 $10.75 effective on July 1, 2018. In addition to the new standard minimum wage rate, SB 1532 sets out a higher rate for employers located in the urban growth boundary, and a lower rate for employers located in nonurban counties.
 Pennsylvania $7.25 N/A
 Rhode Island $9.60 N/A
 South Carolina none N/A
 South Dakota $8.65 Annual increase subject to CPI. New rate becomes effective on Jan. 1.
 Tennessee none N/A
 Texas $7.25 No increase expected in 2018. State law excludes from coverage any employment that is subject to the FLSA.
 Utah $7.25 No increase expected in 2018. State law excludes from coverage any employment that is subject to the FLSA.
 Vermont $10.00 $10.50 effective on Jan. 1, 2018. The state rate applies to employers with two or more employees.
 Virginia $7.25 No increase expected in 2018. State law excludes from coverage any employment that is subject to the FLSA. The state wage rate applies to employer with four or more employees.
 Washington $11.00 $11.50 effective on Jan. 1, 2018.
 West Virginia $8.75 No increase expected in 2018. The state rate applies to employers with six or more employees at one location.
 Wisconsin $7.25 N/A
 Wyoming $5.15 N/A

Sources: U.S. Department of Labor, National Conference of State Legislatures

2017-09-08T09:30:26+00:00